Homemade jam, in a breadmaker!!!

This is one of my favourite things to make at the moment, especially as I can pimp the jam jars with my Cath Kidston labels along with my personalised labels that I got off ebay for about £2!

I still can’t get over how easy it is to make jam in the breadmaker (check yours has got a jam setting on first though!)

Ingredients
fruit, jam sugar, jam jars (sterilised), pretty labels-a must!

Take your fruit (I’ve so far tried strawberry, blackberry and raspberry, separately not combined), wash it and trim any leaves or twigs off! Whatever the weight is of your fruit, so say half a kilo, measure out the exact same amount of jam sugar. Throw the sugar and the fruit into the breadmaker, select the jam setting and start. Hurrah! Mine takes 1 hr 20 mins to complete. Whilst the jam is bubbling away in the breadmaker, put the jam jars and lids through a hot dishwasher cycle, then microwave (although don’t put the metal jam lids in the microwave!) or oven til dry.

Once the jam has finished, carefully spoon out into your dry jam jars (careful, the liquid is hot!) and immediately put the lid on, tighten and put in the fridge overnight! Don’t forget to decorate your jam jars!!

20140618-101956-37196248.jpg

Leave a comment